Alert: The following services will be unavailable on Saturday, January 5, 2013 from 12 a.m. (midnight) to 6 a.m. CST due to system maintenance.
What's new for dealers and auctions
Missing imaging work notice
Effective January 2015, WisDOT will start notifying dealers, lenders and agents who process title applications of any missing work that needs to be submitted for imaging. Notification will be by U.S. mail to the primary business address on our records.
If required paperwork has not been received in a timely manner, letters will be sent listing which applications are missing. All processing agents are required by contract to submit certain completed title applications the first business day following processing. Failure to do so may cause WisDOT to deny electronic processing access, resulting in additional fees and/or surcharges as well as possible licensing actions.
If you have any questions regarding submitting completed work, please contact the Agent Partnership Unit at: DOTDMVMissingWork@dot.wi.gov.
Wisconsin dealer electronic processing options
Wisconsin law requires that all licensed motor vehicle dealers electronically process title and registration applications for their customers.
If a dealership sold 48 or fewer vehicles in the previous full calendar year, it may be exempt from the electronic processing requirement. If the dealership is exempt and chooses not to electronically process, an additional processing fee of $15 per application is required. The processing fee can be passed on to the customer.
If a dealership is not exempt, it will be assessed a $50 surcharge for each application submitted to DMV for processing that can be completed electronically, in addition to the $15 processing fee. The $50 surcharge cannot be passed on to the customer.
It is to your dealership's advantage to learn an electronic system. Wisconsin DMV supports three choices for electronic titling:
- CVR: Jeannie Stoglin, (248) 606-5367
- DealerTrack: Eric McFall, (860) 383-9687
- e-MV11: www.dot.wi.gov/business/dealers/emv11
WisDOT Customer Service Unit, (608) 266-1425
WisDOT's e-MV11 program allows motor vehicle dealers to electronically process title/registration applications for their customers via the Internet.
There are numerous benefits in filing electronically. These include accurate fee calculation, real time record update, no need to write checks, and immediate listing of liens. There is no charge for using the e-MV11 system and the program allows dealers to meet the requirements of the law that requires all licensed motor vehicle dealers to electronically process title/registration applications for their customers.
Join WisDOT's dealer listserv!
Sign up on the dealer listserv to receive WisDOT dealer news.
Dealer publications already available electronically
- Directory of Wisconsin Dealers WisDOT list of all licensed motor vehicle businesses in Wisconsin.
- Plain Dealing newsletter Current and back issues of WisDOT’s Plain Dealing newsletter.
Questions about the content of this page:
Division of Motor Vehicles, Dealer Section, email@example.com
Last modified: January 26, 2015
All external hyperlinks are provided for your information and for the benefit of the general public. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation does not testify to, sponsor or endorse the accuracy of the information provided on externally linked pages. Some pages contain links to other documents and media types (PDF, Word, Flash, Video, etc.) and require free plugins to work. Visit our software information page for assistance.