Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Alert: The following services will be unavailable on Saturday, January 5, 2013 from 12 a.m. (midnight) to 6 a.m. CST due to system maintenance.

Occupational licenses for emergency service providers

If you are employed by a unit of government, public utility, medical service provider or provide services to one of these, you may be allowed to operate outside the hours listed on your occupational license.

When operating at a time not listed on your occupational license, you must be providing life-sustaining services during an emergency. Emergency operation during unlisted hours is only allowed to and from home, work and any emergency site.

An emergency service provider must list less than 60 hours for non-emergency operation to allow for driving time during an emergency. Total hours of operation for both emergency (unlisted hours) and non-emergency (listed hours) cannot exceed 12 hours per day/60 per week.

If requested by law enforcement, you must be able to prove you are providing life-sustaining service during an emergency when operating during unlisted hours.

Check your eligibility for an occupational license if your license has been suspended or revoked.

Check your eligibility to reinstate your driving privilege.

Questions? Contact us: Wisconsin DMV email service
Call: (608) 266-2261

Last modified: August 30, 2011

All external hyperlinks are provided for your information and for the benefit of the general public. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation does not testify to, sponsor or endorse the accuracy of the information provided on externally linked pages. Some pages contain links to other documents and media types (PDF, Word, Flash, Video, etc.) and require free plugins to work. Visit our software information page for assistance.