Alert: The following services will be unavailable on Saturday, January 5, 2013 from 12 a.m. (midnight) to 6 a.m. CST due to system maintenance.
Special identification (ID) cards for physically disabled
Permanent (blue) and temporary (red) Disabled Parking Identification (DIS ID) cards are issued to persons who have a physical disability that limits or impairs their ability to walk. Specific information can be found in Wisconsin Statute Chapter s.340.01(43g). Special parking privileges are granted as outlined in Chapter Trans 130, Wisconsin Administrative Code and Wisconsin Statute Chapter s.343.51. Other than a motorcycle, motor vehicles displaying the DIS ID card are authorized to park in stalls reserved for the physically disabled as outlined in s.346.50(2) to (4), s.346.503 and s.346.505 Wis. Stats.
Individuals may be issued two (2) cards, however, persons who have been issued disabled or disabled veterans license plates may only be issued one (1) card. Cards expire on the dates indicated by a month and year sticker affixed to both sides of the card.
Temporary cards cannot be extended or renewed. They must be replaced with a new card and require a new certification.
Permanent cards must be renewed after each four year period and require re-certification. Only year stickers will be received when renewing DIS ID cards.
Organizations are only issued permanent cards. They may apply for as many cards as they have vehicles assigned to the organization. This includes vehicles owned by volunteers who transport physically disabled persons on behalf of the requesting organization. Organizations must contact the Special Plate Unit for an application.
Cards may be obtained by sending a completed application along with the required fees to:
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
Special Plates Unit
P. O. Box 7306
Madison, WI 53707-7306
Cards are available at most DMV service centers.
There is a $6 fee for Temporary cards. There is no fee for issuance, renewal or replacement of Permanent cards. A counter service fee of $3 per application is charged when cards are issued at any DMV service center.
Questions? Contact us: Wisconsin DMV email service
Call: (608) 266-3041
Fax: (608) 267-5106
Last modified: September 29, 2008
All external hyperlinks are provided for your information and for the benefit of the general public. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation does not testify to, sponsor or endorse the accuracy of the information provided on externally linked pages. Some pages contain links to other documents and media types (PDF, Word, Flash, Video, etc.) and require free plugins to work. Visit our software information page for assistance.