Alert: The following services will be unavailable on Saturday, January 5, 2013 from 12 a.m. (midnight) to 6 a.m. CST due to system maintenance.
Go paperless; receive vehicle registration renewal notices via email
Go paperless and receive your vehicle license plate/registration renewal notices by e-mail through our eNotify (electronic notification) program. You can also have text reminders sent to your mobile device.
Once subscribed, we will send you electronic license plate/registration renewal notices for all eligible vehicles. These electronic license plate/registration renewal notices will include a link to renew your registration online. You will need to subscribe at least 3 months in advance of the plate expiration to ensure receipt of an electronic renewal notice for a particular vehicle.
eNotify is available for individuals who are listed first on their vehicle registration. If the vehicle has more than one owner or lessee, the first listed owner or lessee must subscribe in order to receive electronic license plate/registration renewal notices for eligible vehicles. If all owners or lessees subscribe, electronic renewals will be sent to all individual owners or lessees.
Electronic license plate/registration renewals can be sent for the following license plate types:
- Buses (except school buses) registered at 54,000 lbs. gross weight or less
- Farm trucks registered at 54,000 lbs. gross weight or less
- Human service vehicles
- Low-speed vehicles
- Motor homes registered at any gross weight
- Motorcycles and mopeds
- Recreational vehicle trailers
- Special plates for autos, light trucks and motor homes (e.g., Packers, Endangered Resources, Military, etc.)
- Tractors registered at 54,000 lbs. gross weight or less
- Trailers registered at any gross weight
- Trucks registered at 54,000 lbs. gross weight or less
- The primary owner or primary lessee is subscribed to eNotify
The following license plate types do not qualify to receive electronic license plate/registration renewal notices (You will continue to receive paper license plate/registration renewal notices):
- Buses, tractors and trucks registered over 54,000 lbs. gross weight (except Special Z and Special X plates)
- Vehicles that have been out of operation more than three years, for annual registrations, or four years for biennial registrations
- Consecutive monthly registrations renewing for one additional month only. Telephone authorization is available for a $7.50 fee.
- The primary owner or primary lessee is not subscribed to eNotify
Please check license plate renewal options to renew by mail or in person for plates that do not qualify for eNotify and do not qualify to be renewed online.
When you receive your electronic license plate/registration renewal notice, you will be able to renew your license plate online. When renewing your license plates online, the following credit or debit cards are accepted. A $1.25 convenience fee will apply:
- American Express
- Discover Card
Already subscribed to eNotify? Update/Access your account with the image above.
NOTE: Due to Wisconsin Open Records Law, WisDOT will, upon request, provide your e-mail and/or cell phone number if a valid request is received, except where protected by law.
See more information about the Wisconsin Open Records Law, and withholding your name and address from the mailing list.
Questions about the content of this page:
Telephone: (608) 266-1466
Last modified: July 2, 2013
All external hyperlinks are provided for your information and for the benefit of the general public. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation does not testify to, sponsor or endorse the accuracy of the information provided on externally linked pages. Some pages contain links to other documents and media types (PDF, Word, Flash, Video, etc.) and require free plugins to work. Visit our software information page for assistance.