Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Alert: The following services will be unavailable on Saturday, January 5, 2013 from 12 a.m. (midnight) to 6 a.m. CST due to system maintenance.

Antique license plates

Antique license plate  Wisconsin antique motorcycle license plate

Vehicles that qualify

A motor vehicle, including a motorcycle, which has a model year of 1945 or earlier and which has not been altered or modified from the original manufacturer's specifications qualifies as an antique.

Things you should know:

  • The vehicle can only be driven for special occasions such as display and parade purposes or for necessary testing, maintenance and storage purposes.
  • The registration is valid while the vehicle is owned by the applicant without the payment of any additional fee.
  • A person who registers an antique motor vehicle may display a historical plate from or representing the model year of the vehicle if the registration and plates issued by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) are simultaneously carried in or, in the case of an antique motorcycle, carried with the vehicle and are available for inspection.
  • Antique plates cannot be personalized.

How to apply

If the vehicle is titled in your name, send:

  • A photocopy of the Wisconsin Certificate of Title or Registration
  • A letter requesting Antique license plates and completed form MV2593
  • A registration fee of $5
  • Make check or money order payable to: Registration Fee Trust.

If the vehicle has not been titled in Wisconsin or if you are purchasing the vehicle send:

  • A completed form MV1. Submit the completed MV1 with the assigned Wisconsin title OR out-of-state title
  • $5 registration fee
  • Title fee
  • Appropriate sales tax or claim valid exemption
  • A check or money order payable to: Registration Fee Trust

Mail to:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
Special Plates Unit
P.O. Box 7911
Madison, WI 53707-7911

Temporary plates required

To legally operate your vehicle you must display license plates within 2 business days of purchase. If you do not have current plates, apply at a DMV service center or a temporary license plate agent authorized by DMV to obtain a temporary plate while your ANT plates are being processed. An agent may charge a $3 temporary plate fee and/or may also charge a $5 service charge.

Release of information

Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) uses the information provided on the MV1 form to issue Antique license plates. Under open records laws, WisDOT must make nonexempt information available upon request. If you want your name and address withheld from such business mailing lists, complete and return the Request to Withhold Name and Address form MV3592 or obtain one from any DMV service center.

Previous Back to Special and personalized license plates

Questions? Contact us: Wisconsin DMV email service
Call: (608) 266-3041
Fax: (608) 267-5106

For more information:

Last modified: September 11, 2013

All external hyperlinks are provided for your information and for the benefit of the general public. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation does not testify to, sponsor or endorse the accuracy of the information provided on externally linked pages. Some pages contain links to other documents and media types (PDF, Word, Flash, Video, etc.) and require free plugins to work. Visit our software information page for assistance.