Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Alert: The following services will be unavailable on Saturday, January 5, 2013 from 12 a.m. (midnight) to 6 a.m. CST due to system maintenance.

Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality Improvement program

The Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality Improvement program (CMAQ) encourages transportation projects that improve air quality. It includes efforts to enhance public transit, bicycle/pedestrian facilities, ridesharing programs and facilities, and technologies that improve traffic flow and vehicle emissions.

CMAQ funds are only available in these southeastern and northeastern Wisconsin non-attainment and maintenance counties: Milwaukee, Racine, Kenosha, Waukesha, Washington, Ozaukee, Walworth, Sheboygan, Kewaunee, Manitowoc and Door.

CMAQ funding was continued pursuant to Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century (MAP-21), the federal transportation act that was signed into law on July 6, 2012. MAP-21 provisions took effect on October 1, 2012. Generally, projects eligible for CMAQ funding pursuant to SAFETEA-LU remain eligible for funding under current legislation. MAP-21 continues to emphasize cost-effective projects, and legislation prioritizes certain projects such as those that reduce particulate matter emissions in areas of nonattainment for this criteria pollutant.

New State Fiscal Year 2016-2020 Program Cycle Application

As of April 15, 2015 applications for the 2016-2020 Program Cycle for CMAQ are available. The applications are due on or before June 19, 2015. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) anticipates announcing CMAQ awards sometime in early calendar year 2016. The department solicits applications every other year, so the next opportunity to submit application will occur in calendar year 2017.

State Fiscal Year 2014-2018 Program Cycle

On April 16, 2014, Secretary Gottlieb announced approval of approximately $39 million in CMAQ awards, which will fund 24 projects in the bicycle-pedestrian, public transit, traffic flow, and alternative fuel CMAQ eligibility categories. WisDOT plans to solicit CMAQ applications every second calendar year, so the next opportunity to submit CMAQ applications will occur in 2015.


TE, CMAQ, SRTS and similar projects are primarily implemented by local sponsors as Local Let Contracts (LLC).

Beginning with projects awarded in 2010, local sponsors constructing projects requiring a Local Let Contract (LLC) must attend a one-day training session. The training session instructs sponsors on the local letting process and results in certification to administer and deliver these projects. The updated Sponsor's Guide (August 2014) and the Certification form are available below. The third document provides clarification on frequently asked questions regarding the certification process.


Regional local program contacts

Southeast Region
Robert Schmidt
Phone: (262) 548-8789
Fax: (262) 521-4425

Northeast Region
Sandy Carpenter
Phone: (920) 492-5681
Fax: (920) 492-5711

Statewide program contact

Tanya Iverson
Phone: (608) 266-2574
Fax: (608) 266-0658

Questions about the content of this page:
June Coleman, june.coleman@dot.wi.gov
Last modified: April 15, 2015

All external hyperlinks are provided for your information and for the benefit of the general public. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation does not testify to, sponsor or endorse the accuracy of the information provided on externally linked pages. Some pages contain links to other documents and media types (PDF, Word, Flash, Video, etc.) and require free plugins to work. Visit our software information page for assistance.